

## **Clarissa Hug Teacher of the Year Award**

The Clarissa Hug Teacher of the Year Award was established in 1984 to honor a Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) member who provides direct services to children and youth with exceptionalities and exemplifies the best in special education teaching.

The Teacher of the Year award is named after Clarissa Hug, a former CEC member who served as a homebound teacher for 50 years in the Chicago Public Schools system. Hug retired from her role as a homebound teacher in 1970 but continued to work tirelessly for children and youth with exceptionalities until her late 80s. During her career, Hug served as President of the Chicago Council for Exceptional Children, President of Illinois Council for Exceptional Children, and President and first Executive Director of the Division for Physical, Health, and Multiple Disabilities.

In 1985, the CEC Delegate Assembly motioned to name the award after Hug to honor her many years serving as an exemplary CEC member and to continue to recognize special educators who provide direct service to children and youth with exceptionalities.

Recent recipients of the Clarissa Hug Teacher of the Year Award include Shelly Carney, Nebraska (2019); Sara Klug, Florida (2018); Polly Parrish, Alabama (2017); Kathy Boisvert, Massachusetts (2016); and Helen T. Pastore, Florida (2015).